Tutorial Thursday: Vol. 6 – Contouring 101

Hello Readers!

Sorry I am only getting to posting this so late in the day. The main product I wanted to use didn’t come in the mail until yesterday afternoon so I had to do everything this morning. Anyway, this tutorial is meant as a follow up to my last post on The Best Bronzers For Fair Skin. After my review I got a lot of requests for a tutorial on contouring so that’s what I am bringing to you tonight!

In my opinion, contouring is like instant photoshop to your face and its awesome. It involves contouring the parts of your face you want to recede, and highlight the parts of your face you want to bring forward. The result is a sculpted look that emphasizes your beautiful features even more!

For this tutorial you will need some sort of bronzer or powder blush that complements your skin tone that you can use as a contour, a matte and shimmer highlighter or light colored eye shadow, a contouring brush, a small blending brush, and a highlighting brush. Below are the products that I used, however you can use any that are similar. Powder or cream is fine.

DSC_2037

(L-R): Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit, Sigma F86 Tapered Kabuki Brush, and Sigma F35 Tapered Highlight Brush.

DSC_2042

Step 1: Start with a prepped face. Prior to the tutorial I applied foundation, concealer, and did my brows. I have found that contouring looks best if you make an effort to conceal all or most of the redness on your face.

With your contouring brush select a bronzer that best suits your skin tone. For this tutorial I will be using Fawn from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit.

With your contouring brush select a bronzer that best suits your skin tone. For this tutorial I will be using Fawn from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit.

With your contour brush, blend your bronzer right under your cheekbones and up onto your cheekbones. The key to this step is to keep blending. When you blend, try to do so in a circular motion upwards.  A good way to find the hollows of your cheeks is to make a fish face. Otherwise I start from the top of my ear and follow the natural angle of my cheekbone to about the outer corner of my eye. It is up to personal preference how far you bring in your contour. You can bring it in all the way to about the center of your eye if you are going for a more dramatic look (I have work today though, so that's not happening).

Step 2: With your contour brush, blend your bronzer right under your cheekbones and up onto your cheekbones. The key to this step is to keep blending. When you blend, try to do so in a circular motion upwards. ALSO make sure you are blending into your hairline! 
A good way to find the hollows of your cheeks is to make a fish face. Otherwise I start from the top of my ear and follow the natural angle of my cheekbone to about the outer corner of my eye. It is up to personal preference how far you bring in your contour. You can bring it in all the way to about the center of your eye if you are going for a more dramatic look (I have work today though, so that’s not happening).

Step 3: From the top of your cheek contour, make a 'u-turn' around your cheekbone to your temples. Continue blending in a circular motion into the hairline in that crescent shape.

Step 3: From the top of your cheek contour, make a ‘u-turn’ around your cheekbone to your temples. Continue blending in a circular motion into the hairline in that crescent shape.

Step 4: Take the contour from your temple and make another crescent shape to the top outer corner of your forehead. Remember to keep blending in a circular upwards motion into your hairline.  To be honest, I normally skip this step because I have bangs that get in the way anyway, but you will see that it truly makes a difference in the end!

Step 4: Take the contour from your temple and make another crescent shape to the top outer corner of your forehead. Remember to keep blending in a circular upwards motion into your hairline.
To be honest, I normally skip this step because I have bangs that get in the way anyway, but you will see that it truly makes a difference in the end!

Step 5: Take your bronzer and blend under your jawline and down onto your neck. I start from behind my ear and bring it all the way to my chin.

Step 5: Take your bronzer and blend under your jawline and down onto your neck. I start from behind my ear and bring it all the way to my chin.

Take a small eye shadow blending brush and the bronzer you have been using for the rest of your face.

Take a small eye shadow blending brush and the bronzer you have been using for the rest of your face.

 

DSC_2068

Step 6: With your small blending brush, contour the sides of your nose. I start from the bridge and bring it all the way down to under the tip of my nose. For added effect you can blend from the bridge into the hollow of your eye. For added effect you can blend a little bit of the bronzer under your bottom lip to make them stand out more.

DSC_2075

That’s it for contouring, now onto highlighting. I’m using my tapered highlighting brush and using Banana from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit. I am using this matte yellow based shade as it will combat any purple or redness under my eyes that my concealer wasn’t able to cover.

DSC_2081

Step 7: With your highlighting brush highlight the tops of your cheekbones. In this case I am also highlighting and setting the concealer under my eyes. If you are using a highlighter with a bit of shimmer to it, you can use it on the tops of your cheekbones, but I would not use it to set the concealer under your eyes.

DSC_2076

For this next step I am using a more nude based highlight as it is for the rest of my face. Here I am using Vanilla and my tapered highlighting brush. If you don’t have the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit, continue using what you used in the previous step.

Step 8: With your highlighter, highlight either the center of your forehead or over your eyebrows. Again,. since i have bangs I am choosing to highlight from the center of my forehead as you wouldn't be able to see it otherwise.

Step 8: With your highlighter, highlight either the center of your forehead or over your eyebrows. Again,. since i have bangs I am choosing to highlight from the center of my forehead as you wouldn’t be able to see it otherwise.

DSC_2093

Step 9: With your highlighter, highlight down the front of your nose from the bridge to the tip.

DSC_2096

Step 10: Next, highlight the tip of your chin. For added effect you can add a pop of highlight to your cupids bow to make your lips stand out more.

DSC_2098

Step 11: Almost done! Last step is to highlight your jaw bone. Starting from the bottom of your ear under your contour and stopping at the outside corner of your eye.

DSC_2114

Step 12: With your blush of choice, blend above your contour and under your highlight and into your hair line. Blush placement varies on what face shape you have. Since I have a very round face I like to play up my cheekbones more than someone with an oval face should. If you have a longer face, concentrate more of the color onto the apples of your cheeks.

DSC_2119

Done! Enjoy your sculpted face!

DSC_2121

A better look at the contour.

DSC_2125

From this point you can finish your face! I am using Lorac Pro on my eyes, dusted my face with Make Up For Ever HD Loos Powder, and finished the look with Bite Beauty’s Lychee on my lips.

DSC_2126

 

That’s it! Let me know what you think and if you have any tips of your own for contouring/highlighting! Also, look forward to a review on the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit that will be posted on Monday!

XO- Untitled-1

3 thoughts on “Tutorial Thursday: Vol. 6 – Contouring 101

Leave a Reply

