Review: Bite Beauty Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library

Hello Readers!

Since the new year, I have discovered the awesomeness that is Bite Beauty. When I made Rouge at Sephora over the holidays I received a deluxe size Bite Beauty Lipstick made solely for VIB Rouge members, I have been hooked ever since. One of the things that really like about Bite Beauty is that they only use natural products like fruit and vegetable extracts and pigments making them a fantastic cruelty free company. Unfortunately, Bite products are only available through Sephora, but they are definitely worth making the trip for.  This April marked the release of their Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library and I knew as soon as I saw it that I would have to have it.

First Impressions:

The Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library is comprised of 12 different pink, mauve, red, and rose toned lip glosses that all linger with the light scent of rose. Each lip gloss is a ‘deluxe size’ holding .05oz of product compared to their full sized lip glosses holding .13oz of product.

DSC_2004

DSC_2008

The product is packaged in a slide out cardboard  box with a protective and decorative sleeve. Inside is housed the 12 lip glosses ordered One through Twelve. The tubes are about the length of your palm, and about half of that holding the product. The bottoms are a clear plastic whereas the screw off lids are a black rubberized plastic with the Bite logo printed in patent on the side. Although they are plastic, they feel very sturdy not cheap.

L-R: One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven, Eight, Nine, Ten, Eleven, and Twelve.

L-R: One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven, Eight, Nine, Ten, Eleven, and Twelve.

Each color is inspired by the rose, which Bite describes individually as the following:  One (light pink/mauve) Two (rosey pink), Three (light coral), Four (raisin), Five (mauve), Six (dusty rose), Seven (dusty coral), Eight (muted cherry), Nine (apple red), Ten (jewel red), Eleven (dark red/brown), and Twelve (deep purple).

DSC_2010

DSC_2012

These lip glosses all have doe foot applicators, While I was applying them for myself, I noticed however that these were not the run of the mill  kind that you can find in any lip gloss from the drug store. These applicators are much larger than average and have an ergonomic dip that holds a lot of product.

Swatches:

DSC_1943

 

Swatches are done on lips from One through Twelve below:

DSC_1953

 

DSC_1954

DSC_1963

DSC_1962

DSC_1972

DSC_1978

DSC_1980

DSC_1985

DSC_1992

DSC_1995

DSC_1998

DSC_1999

 

Final Thoughts:

This collection in my opinion was a little bit of a let down. I don’t know if my expectations were just too high, but it just isn’t the thing I was hoping it would be. This doesn’t mean that the collection has no positive qualities because it definitely does. Looking on the bright side, I should’t have to buy another rose colored gloss for a while!

When applied, the glosses are very creamy and slightly sticky. They aren’t the stickiest glosses I have worn (nothing compared to MAC Lipglass) but there is a bit of tug that makes it hard to apply evenly. Personally I prefer a gloss with a little bit of grab because I don’t feel like its going to just slide right off my lips. After the gloss is applied, there is a slight ‘burn’ feeling that I’m assuming has to do with the plumping qualities these glosses have. Its nothing unbearable or even really noticeable…I don’t know, maybe my mind is playing tricks on me and I’m making it up.

Regardless, many of the glosses have amazing pigmentation for only one coat and feel very moisturizing. I really liked the pigmentation of the darker and more mauve-y shades especially, 4, 6, 7, and 9-12 as they applied very opaque for a lip gloss. The lighter shades, especially 1, 2, 3, and 5 were barely noticeable on my lips or made me look very washed out.

FAVORITES: 4, 7, 9, and 11

LEAST FAVORITES: 1, 2, 3, and 5

PRO’S:

  • Great Value
  • Pigmentation of darker shades
  • Wearability
  • Long Lasting
  • Packaging
  • Applicator
  • All Natural and Cruelty Free Ingredients

CON’S:

  • Sticky
  • Lack of pigmentation in lighter shades
  • Scent: It wasn’t so noticeable when swatched on my arm, but after a few hours or so on my lips it was a little obnoxious. I usually prefer products without a scent.
  • Only sold through Sephora

The Math:

The Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library is available for a limited time at Sephora for $49.00USD. The product houses 12 individual .05oz lip glosses which translates to approximately $81.67USD per ounce. A full sized Bite Lip Gloss retails for approximately $22.00USD and  holds .13oz of product which translates to approximately $169.23USD per ounce. By buying the Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library you are essentially getting  the equivalent of 4.6 full sized lip glosses for the price of 2 full sized glosses. Its a pretty good deal.

What do you think! What are some limited edition products and collections can you just not live without?

XO-Untitled-1

13 thoughts on “Review: Bite Beauty Deconstructed Rose Lip Gloss Library

  1. Good review! I love the idea of this, but a lot of those colours look very similar. I do really like the darker shades though. I think I’ll have to force myself to pass on these. I’ve been liking the Maybelline colour elixirs! Very pigmented and not sticky.

  2. I bought this set. I returned it. It wasn’t what u expected it to be. Half the shades don’t show on my lips, and they don’t last on my lips at all. They face so quick. Not worth it in my book.

Leave a Reply

