Best Bronzers for Fair Skin

DSC_1895

 

Hello Readers!

I have recently started obsessing over bronzer. I just started to learn how to contour and am on the hunt for the perfect contouring bronzer so I am constantly on the look out. I have about six now that I really like and decided to share with you as finding the perfect bronzer can be very difficult for those of us with pale skin.

Top Row (Center): Nars Laguna  Bottom Row (L-R): Too Faced Snow Bunny, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, NYX Taupe, Benefit Hoola, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde

Top Row (Center): Nars Laguna
Bottom Row (L-R): Too Faced Snow Bunny, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, NYX Taupe, Benefit Hoola, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde

 

Too Faced Snow Bunny – $30.00USD via Sephora, Ulta, and Too Faced

This bronzer is one of my most recent purchases and I am already in love. I’m warning you now, this stuff is very shimmery. Not so glittery to the point where its distasteful, but it is apparent. Although this bronzer comes in a pan that holds 4 different shades, when I apply it I use all 4 of the shades together. Since this bronzer draws so much attention on its own, I prefer not to use a blush with it. As you will see its very light, almost pink, adding a touch of gold sparkle to the skin. It brings a very healthy summer glow to the face.

DSC_1899 DSC_1911

NARS Laguna – $38.00USD (full size) via Sephora and NARS

You may have seen that NARS Laguna made my March Favorites and for good reason. I will say that I didn’t touch this shade in the palette for the longest time since it looked way to dark for my skin tone. Once I started trying contouring I tested it out a few times and it is surprisingly sheer and very buildable. It doesn’t have a super orange undertone but its definitely a warm bronzer bringing a shimmery glow to the face. I still use this shade almost every day. I like how it has a touch of shimmer as I feel like the more matte formulas tend to make my already dry skin too chalky.

DSC_1805 DSC_1913

Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde – $52.00USD via Sephora

I picked this one up during my haul for Sephora’s VIB Spring Chic Week. It was an impulse buy, but I don’t regret it at all. Everything from the packaging, to the pigment, and application is so luxe I feel like a million bucks every time I use it. As you can tell just by looking at it, that it honestly doesn’t look like a bronzer. Its very light so it could really even pass for finishing powder for a medium tan skin tone. Of all the bronzers I own this one is the most orange toned, however since it is so light it really isn’t distracting or odd looking when on the face. I think it looks the most natural on my skin tone, however because of its orange undertones I dont’ suggest using it to contour but just as an average bronzer to highlight the face.

DSC_1903 DSC_1910

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Medium-Deep – $30.00USD via Sephora, Ulta, and Too Faced.

Let me just start by saying that this stuff SMELLS AMAZING! It smells like hot cocoa mix and I love it. Chocolate Soleil is a dark brown matte bronzer, and was the first bronzer I ever picked up. This is the darkest bronzer I own, and although I feel like its lighter counter part Milk Chocolate Soleil would be more akin to my skin tone, it’s great for doing a more dramatic contour.

DSC_1901 DSC_1912

Benefit Hoola – $28.00USD via Sephora, Ulta, and Benefit Cosmetics

Hoola is very similar to Milk Chocolate Soleil as it is a lighter matte bronzer. I just picked this one up a few weeks ago so I haven’t gotten enough time to really put it to use, however I can tell that I already really like it. Its probably my favorite warm matte bronzer that I own. Coincidentally this is also the first Benefit face product that I have purchased as well. I normally cant buy anything from Benefit because their ‘light’ shade is almost always 2 shades too dark for me.

DSC_1904 DSC_1907

NYX Powder Blush in Taupe – $5.00USD via NYX Cosmetics and Ulta.

When I want a very natural shadow or contour, I always reach for NYX Taupe. It is a cool toned blush that works wonders for light skin. Since it is cool toned on the skin it appears more like a shadow rather than straight up bronzer. I would like to get more products I can use for contouring that are in the same color family as NYX Taupe as I have found that its staying power is a little lacking. It looks great in the morning but once I get home, it wears away on the outermost sides of my face and doesn’t look as well blended.

DSC_1902 DSC_1908

Swatches:

Photos are taken in natural indirect light on NC15/1Y01 skin.

Swatched L-R: Too Faced Snow Bunny, NARS Laguna, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, Benefit Hoola, NYX Taupe

Swatched
L-R: Too Faced Snow Bunny, NARS Laguna, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, Benefit Hoola, NYX Taupe

Blended L-R: Too Faced Snow Bunny, NARS Laguna, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, Benefit Hoola, NYX Taupe

Blended
L-R: Too Faced Snow Bunny, NARS Laguna, Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde, Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, Benefit Hoola, NYX Taupe

Final Thoughts:

Best Consistency/Application:

  • Too Faced Snow Bunny
  • NARS Laguna
  • Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde

Worst Consistency/ Application:

  • Too Faced Chocolate Soleil: very powdery and messy
  • NYX Taupe: not long lasting

Best Bronzer for Contouring:

  • NYX Taupe
  • NARS Laguna or Benefit Hoola

Best Bronzer for a ‘Touch of Sun’:

  • Too Faced Snow Bunny
  • Guerlain Terracotta 00-Blonde

Best Matte Brozer:

  • Cool Toned: NYX Taupe
  • Warm Toned: Benefit Hoola

Best  Shimmer Bronzer:

  • NARS Laguna

 

What would you say is your favorite bronzer? I would really like to know! Also I’m thinking of doing a contouring tutorial for next week, suggestions?

XO- Untitled-1

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Best Bronzers for Fair Skin

  1. I loved how helpful this is! I definitely wanted to give snow bunny a try but was a little nervous of it. Now I will try and pick it up after my current bronzer is done.

  2. Ill definitely have to try that snow bunny and nars laguna! I have too face chocolate soleil and I agree that it can be difficult to apply or come out too dark. I have to use a super light hand with this! Also that NYX bronzer looks like a great contour colour! Its too bad the application and lasting power isnt the best 😦

    • It is great for contouring, and its only $5 so I suggest you still try it out for yourself! Other similar cool toned blush/bronzer that I would recommend would be Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics John Doe or Illamasqua Hollow (I’m looking to pick these up myself!).

Leave a Reply

