Weekly Favorite; Vol. 7 – Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée in Pink Escape

Hello Readers!

Hope you are all ready for the fantastic weekend ahead! Last week I posted my weekly favorite on Sephora Collection Super Nourishing Lip Balm, so if you haven’t checked that out yet do it now! This week I wanted to review another fantastic product that I picked up during the Sephora VIB Spring Chic WeekJosie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée in Pink Escape. I actually picked up two of these (the other being Coral Oasis) but I have found myself gravitating more to Pink Escape since its such a perfect pink blush for spring.

This blush is anything but the ordinary. Its hard to describe as it isn’t really a cream, but it isn’t really a stain either. Sephora describes it as the following:

This buildable, blendable blush hybrid provides the natural look of a cream blush with the long-lasting hydrating color of a gel stain. Infused with 50 percent-pure coconut water, it instantly hydrates while nourishing with the powerful benefits of vitamin E-rich argan oil. Like a refreshing sip of coconut water for your skin, this moisture-packed blush instantly drenches cheeks in a cool veil of color.  

Sephora

The Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée comes in 6 beautiful shades: Coral Oasis – a tangerine orange, Poppy Paradise – warm toned hot pink, Pink Escape – a cool toned pink, Getaway Red – pure redBerry Bliss – deep wine, and Honeymoon Honey – a neutral brown.  

DSC_1936

DSC_1937

DSC_1939

First Impressions:

I randomly stumbled across this product while shopping online at Sephora and became very intrigued. I had been on the lookout for a sort of cream blush as sometimes a powder makes my skin look dryer than it really is. I first tried this product (in Coral Escape) during my first beauty consultation at Sephora and absolutely loved it. I’m so happy I was able to pick up two as they are quickly becoming a staple for my everyday face.

The product comes in a cardboard like box just like any other makeup product and is packaged in a clear glass jar with a metal screw on lid. Although it is glass, it seems to be very thick and feels sturdy in the hand. Although the product is formulated with Coconut Water it doesn’t seem to have any coconut scent. If you have any coconut allergies however, stay far far away from this product. To the touch it feels very slick and like a jelly, firm but kinda squishy. When you initially swatch it with your finger, it looks very bright and pigmented like the way it appears in the jar,  but when you blend it down it leaves a very sheer and dewy glow. I have noticed that it seems to stain your finger if you leave it on too long, so be sure to wash your hands right after using it. You can use it with a brush, however as it seems to stain my finger within a couple minutes, I don’t really want to think about what it would do to one of my beloved brushes.

DSC_1941

Final Thoughts:

After using this product for a few weeks now, I have really grown to love it. I really like using it over a bb cream as it leaves a very natural, healthy, dewy touch of color to the skin. I would probably stick to using this product during a very light makeup day since it is so sheer, it just kinda fits. I would also recommend using it along with a liquid or cream foundation of sorts rather than a powder as it doesn’t tend to go on as smoothly over a powder.I did notice that it lasts a very long time, longer than my NARS blushes and my cheeks feel more hydrated as well throughout the day as I wear it. I would definitely recommend this product.

The Math:

The Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée can be purchased via Sephora or the Josie Maran website for $22.00USD. The packaging holds approximately .18oz of product, translating to about $123.00USD per ounce. For comparison purposes, similar products would include Givenchy Hydra Sparkling Magic Lip Cheek Balm and Tarte Cheek Stain. The Givenchy Hydra Sparkling Magic Lip Cheek Balm retails for $31.00USD and holds .17oz of product translating to approximately $182.00USD per ounce. The Tarte Cheek Stain retails for $30.00USD and holds .5oz of product translating to approximately $60.00USD per ounce.

Do you have any experience with cheek stains or cream blushes? Let me know in the comments below!

XO-Untitled-1

7 thoughts on “Weekly Favorite; Vol. 7 – Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée in Pink Escape

  1. This is such a gorgeous gel colour. I’m sure it definitely lasts longer than a powder since it’s like a cheek tint. Do you use it on your lips as well? x

Leave a Reply

