Tutorial Thursday; Vol. 3 – Dramatic Black Smokey Eye

Hello Readers!

Hope all of you are well! I don’t know about you but I am so looking forward to Spring Break next week!

Today I decided to do a dramatic matte black smokey eye. I would like to say that I rarely do a smokey eye like this, and for multiple reasons. One because it takes for what seems like forever, and secondly because it’s so messy! Anyhow, I hope you enjoy the following tutorial!

So first comes first, what will you need. Below is a picture of the kind of brushes you will use during the tutorial as well as the products I have used. You don’t need to use the exact same brand, however you will need similar products in order to complete the look.

DSC_1365

Sigma E55 Eye Shading – Flat Eye Shadow Brush
Sigma E05 Eyeliner – Gel Eyelliner Brush
Sigma F70 Concealer – Small Concealer Brush
Sigma E45 Small Tapered Blending – Small Blending Brush
Elf Angled Eye Shadow Brush

DSC_1366

Products Used:
Lorac Pro Palette
Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer
Stila Smudgeproof Eyeliner in Stingray
Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette
MAC Lip Class in C-Thru
MAC Cremesheen Lipstick in Creme D’Nude

 

So lets begin!

DSC_1241

Step 1:
Begin with primed face. Here I have only done my eyebrows and have applied foundation. No powder and no concealer. Doing a smokey eye can be messy so you don’t need to apply under-eye concealer. You will have to clean up any fall out anyway and will just end up wasting more product. 

Step 2:  Apply your eye shadow primer all over your upper lid. Since we are doing a smokey eye and applying shadow to our lower lid, don't forget to apply some primer there as well!

Step 2:
Apply your eye shadow primer all over your upper lid. Since we are doing a smokey eye and applying shadow to our lower lid, don’t forget to apply some primer there as well!

Use Taupe, or any light brown eye shadow.

Use Taupe, or any light brown eye shadow that is similar.

DSC_1256

Step 3:
Take Taupe, and press it into your crease using a flat eye shadow brush.

Step 4: Blend that out.

Step 4:
Blend that out.

Next we will use Espresso, or any similar dark brown color.

Next we will use Espresso, or any similar dark brown color.

Step 5: Layer Espresso over Taupe on the inner most part of your crease and outer lid.

Step 5:
Layer Espresso over Taupe on the inner most part of your crease and outer lid with a flat eye shadow brush.

Step 6: Then blend that out as well.

Step 6:
Then blend that out as well.

Black, use any matte black color for this next step.

Black, use any matte black color for this next step.

Step 7: Now carefully use your flat eye shadow brush to pat on the black shadow all over your lid. Don't swipe across your lid because you will just make a bigger mess. Also this part has the most chance of fallout so be careful!

Step 7:
Now carefully use your flat eye shadow brush to pat on the black shadow all over your lid. Don’t swipe across your lid because you will just make a bigger mess. Also this part has the most chance of fallout so be careful!

Step 8:  Then blend again! Try to keep the black shadow on the lid and just blend the line into Espresso.

Step 8:
Then blend again! Try to keep the black shadow on the lid and just blend the line into Espresso.

Step 9:  Now go back to Espresso or your dark brown color with a flat angled eye shadow brush and apply it to your lower lid all the way to your inner corner.

Step 9:
Now go back to Espresso or your dark brown color with a flat angled eye shadow brush and apply it to your lower lid all the way to your inner corner.

Step 9: Follow over Espresso with Black on your flat angled shadow brush. Starting to actually look like a smokey eye now!

Step 10:
Follow over Espresso with Black on your flat angled shadow brush. Starting to actually look like a smokey eye now!

Step 11: Clean up any fall out from your shadow with a q-tip dipped in makeup remover.

Step 11:
Clean up any fall out from your shadow with a q-tip dipped in makeup remover.

Step 12: Now you can apply your concealer. Try to get as close to the eye shadow as possible without smudging it.

Step 12:
Now you can apply your concealer. Try to get as close to the eye shadow as possible without smudging it.

Step 13: Because this is a smokey eye, blend that shadow on your lower lash line. Be careful of fallout!!

Step 13:
Because this is a smokey eye, blend that shadow on your lower lash line. Be careful of fallout!!

Step 14:  Add eyeliner! Here I used Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette on my upper and lower lash lines, then tightlined and went over my water line with Stila's Smudgeproof liner.

Step 14:
Add eyeliner! Here I smudged Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette on my upper and lower lash lines, then tightlined and went over my water line with Stila’s Smudgeproof liner.

Step 15: Finish your face! I always wait to do mascara and such till after I apply my powder and contour cause I don't want it falling onto my lashes.

Step 15:
Finish your face! I always wait to do mascara and such till after I apply my powder and contour cause I don’t want it falling onto my lashes.

For my face I used MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Medium, Nars Laguna, and Nars Deep Throat.

For my face I used MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Medium, Nars Laguna, for bronzer,  Nars Deep Throat for blush, Nars Albatross for highlight, and Make Up For Ever HD Powder to finish.

Step 16:  Add falsies, mascara, and curl your lashes! Falsies are totally optional so don't be worried if they freak you out or you don't have any. Personally I'm not a fan of them. The feel awkward, like my eyelids are wearing hats or something.

Step 16:
Add falsies, mascara, and curl your lashes! Falsies are totally optional so don’t be worried if they freak you out or you don’t have any. Personally I’m not a fan of them. The feel awkward, like my eyelids are wearing hats or something.

And thats it! To finish the look I used MAC Cremesheen Creme D'Nude and MAC Lipglass in C-Thru on my lips.

And thats it! To finish the look I used MAC Cremesheen Creme D’Nude and MAC Lipglass in C-Thru on my lips.

Step 17:  Be gorgeous.

Step 17:
Be gorgeous.

DSC_1337DSC_1358

So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed! Please leave me feedback in the comments below for any improvements or suggestions for next time!

XO – Untitled-1

 

6 thoughts on “Tutorial Thursday; Vol. 3 – Dramatic Black Smokey Eye

  1. Awesome! This is super great. I love your easy tutorial format. Really simple to follow. I can’t wait to try it out.

    • Thanks! That’s good to hear cause I tried to do it all ‘close up’. The first tutorial I did with the Naked 3 went okay but I feel like the camera was positioned too far away so you couldn’t actually see half the things I was doing lol.

Leave a Reply

