My Sephora Diaries; Vol 1

Hello Readers,

So as a VIB Rouge, I am entitled to complementary makeovers and beauty consultations. Its quickly becoming one of my favorite perks of the Sephora Rouge program because it allows you to really get a grasp of the products on the market by trying them for yourself, as well as giving you the opportunity to try a product or maybe a style that you have never even given a second thought. However, since not everyone is as privileged, I thought that as a monthly post I would blog about my experiences as a Rouge member and relay product reviews, application techniques, ect.,  to you.

My first months entry, isn’t actually about me, but about my mother. My mom is celebrating her birthday on Tuesday and expressed interest in taking her into Sephora for a beauty consultation. I had given her my coupon for a free makeover while I was still just a VIB thinking that she could just walk in and use it whenever she likes. Unfortunately upon further consultation with Sephora headquarters, I was informed that ‘traditionally’ she could not use the coupon as she was not the account holder, however some locations may make an exception. I had read horror stories of other VIB and Rouge members handing down their complementary makeover coupons to friends and relatives, and definitely didn’t want this happening to my mom especially as it was meant as a birthday gift.  I honestly felt that there was no problem with at least asking, and called up my local Sephora. Prior to this, I had just received an AMAZING beauty consultation with an MUA, Luis. So when I called I gave details of exactly what I wanted and I was expecting based on my experience, as well as my prior knowledge of Sephora’s policies. I spoke with the store manager and she reassured me that they would accept the coupon with no problem and booked an appointment! *If any of you plan on booking a beauty consultation using someone elses VIB/Rouge account know that its not normally done! You must check with your Sephora prior to booking and to arrival. Do not expect to just show up and for them to honor the card.

Sunday rolls around and both my mom and I were so excited! We arrived about 15 minutes prior to our appointment time and waited maybe 5 minutes as they cleared the special beauty consultation room (for Rouge members!!) and finished setting up. Once we were greeted and seated by my favorite beauty advisor Luis Najar, I snapped a quick before picture of my mom for comparison purposes.

DSC_1103

Looks a bit nervous right?! Well that would change…

So just from memory, I’m going to try and repeat the products that she tried. Products and steps are listed below and are in order of application. All prices are from the Sephora website.

The finished product!

Yay!! Happy customer!

Yay!! Happy customer!

Our haul!

Our haul!
Went home with Josie Maran Argan Love Your Lips Hydrating Lipstick in Berry Bliss, Tarte Clean Slate Creaseless 360 12-Hr Soothing Eye Primer, Sephora Collection Face and Eye Travel Tool Kit, Givenchy Mister Light Instant Light Corrective Pen, Givenchy Phenomen’Eyes Mascara in Brown, plus the MUFE and Benefit Birthday gifts! Mom also bought me a little thank you including the Kat Von D True Romance Eye Shadow Palette in Saint, and the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Brunette (THANKS MOM!!).

Final Thoughts:

I thought the consultation went fantastic. My mom seemed very pleased when we left and the whole night was buzzing about “makeup this” and “makeup that”, she even took a bunch of selfies once we got home! It made me so happy that something like this was really able to cheer her up and she looks forward to going back with me in the future.

I will be returning to Sephora next month for my second beauty consultation. I’m also thinking of going to a different one than the one I normally go to to compare the staff quality and customer service. If you have a suggestion for what I should go in and ask for as far as a makeover goes, email me or leave a comment down below!

XO- Jen

7 thoughts on “My Sephora Diaries; Vol 1

  1. I like how green the makeup makes her eyes look! Tell her hi for me! I’ve seen her and your dad walking across Studebaker but it’s a little weird to yell out my car so I don’t haha

  2. Hi Jen, Thank you so much for the treat to Sephora. One tends to get used to the same products and application techniques, so it was fun to try new and different. Thanks most for coming with me and sharing your views which were sometimes different from Luis. The biggest difference is the sheer lipsticks. I’m used to lipbalm only and this feels the same but gives some color. Without you I would not have tried Josie Marin and Clinique Chubby Sticks. I’ll go with you anytime.

Leave a Reply

