Weekly Favorite; Vol. 3 – Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Hello Readers!

Sorry about the delayed post today. I had a very busy day yesterday keeping me from preparing for my post this afternoon. 

Anyway, this weeks favorite is Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner in Trooper. I was looking for a liquid liner, but I don’t think anyone is particularly skilled with the normal liquid liner brush and pot that is normally sold, so needless to say I wanted something else. That is when I stumbled upon Kat Von D’s tattoo liner at Sephora. 

DSC_1096

 

First Impressions:

At first, I thought this liner was basically the same as Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner with a felt tip, however on closer inspection the Kat Von D liner brush is actually a brush, not a felt tip. Regardless of its material, the brush tip comes to a nice point and it allows for easy maneuvering and precise application. 

DSC_1098

DSC_1099

The brush head itself reminds me a lot of a watercolor brush. The bristles are synthetic, very dense, and do not stray out of place or bend even with repeated heavy use. I think this type of brush head is actually better than the felt tip because it bends easier. With the felt tip, sometimes the head can become very stiff and will start to bend more near the base of the brush making it difficult to get a precise line. With the Kat Von D liner, the bristles allow for the brush to bend evenly and smoothly also allowing you to have better control over making a thick vs. thin line. 

DSC_1100

 

 

Final Thoughts:

This is my favorite liner, and notice myself grabbing for it every day even when I don’t plan on doing a strong wing. Its my HG eye liner as it is very versatile: it can be used to make the perfect wing or tight-line. My only critique is that its not made in more colors!!

Pros:

  • ergonomic pen-like design/sturdy packaging
  • bristle brush head
  • lasts all day with no touch ups (would last till the next morning if I didn’t remove it)
  • easy to use

Cons:

  • Since its Kat Von D, it is only available at Sephora
  • Only comes in black

 

The Math:

This product can be purchased either in stores or online at Sephora for $18. The packaging holds .02oz of product which figures to approximately $900USD per 1oz. For comparison purposes, a similar product, Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner retails for $20, holds .016oz of product, figuring to approximately $1250USD per 1oz.

 

My next post will be on Sunday for Inspiration du Semaine. 

XO-Jen

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Favorite; Vol. 3 – Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

  1. You are soooo lucky to have Kat’s makeup line in your Sephora!!
    I wish they sold it here in my local Sephora store, but alas they don’t ;(
    Anyway this really really looks gorgeous and I’m a sucker for awesome liquid eyeliners so I’ll be getting this one way or another 😉 Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

