Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Collection: Swatches and Review

Hello Readers!

So for my first uber swatching/review fest, I wanted to cover my most prized collection. My Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tars.

My last weeks, Weekly Favorite featured Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar in Hush. As I mentioned in the post, I have 11 various shades and the clear primer. Although my lips now hate me, for the last week or so I have taken efforts to compile swatches for you of all of my lip tars!! Enjoy!

DSC_0770

Top Row (L-R): Hush, Digitalis, Memento, Clockwork, Trollop, Nylon, Strumpet.
Bottom Row (L-R): Clear, Harlot, Super NSFW, Black Metal Dahlia, Black Dahlia.

 

Ingredients:

Each Lip Tar is labeled as Vegan and Cruelty Free. Lip Tars (including Clear) contain the following,

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Oil, Mentha X Peprita (Peppermint) Oil, Tocopherol Acetate (Vitamin E), Stearalkonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate – Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics

The only difference between the Clear and Matte/Metallic Lip Tars are the unique amounts of pigment and oxides used in each formula. Detailed pigment lists can be seen in the pictures below.

DSC_0776DSC_0777DSC_0778DSC_0779DSC_0780DSC_0781DSC_0782DSC_0783DSC_0784DSC_0785DSC_0786DSC_0787

 

Swatches:

All of them. Taken in natural light with no flash. *Note that they are not matte. This is because I put them on quickly and did not allow them time to dry.

All of them. Taken in natural light with no flash. *Note that they are not matte. This is because I put them on quickly and did not allow them time to dry.

Darker shades. Taken in natural light with flash.

Darker shades. Taken in natural light with flash.

Lighter shades. Taken in natural light with flash.

Lighter shades. Taken in natural light with flash.

Now, individually swatched on my lips. This is process absolutely wreaked havoc on my lips. OCC Lip Tars are very pigmented and dry fairly quickly so they need to be taken off with makeup remover. I worked from lightest to darkest shades in hopes of covering up any staining. By the time I got to Harlot, my lips were so dried out and rubbery feeling from all the scrubbing. Treated my lips to Bite’s Lip Agave Mask and a good lip scrub afterwards.

Hush

Hush
described as a “bridal neutral pink”-OCC
My favorite neutral lip color

Digitalis described as a "pink tinged pale lavender"-OCC *This color is much brighter in real life. Since the picture is taken in natural light it washes the color out a bit. Looks more like a lilac tinged baby pink.

Digitalis
described as a “pink tinged pale lavender”-OCC
This color is much brighter in real life. Since the picture is taken in natural light it washes the color out a bit. Looks more like a lilac tinged baby pink.

Memento described as "midtone pink/plum neutral"-OCC This color is a really nice wearable coral color in real life.

Memento
described as “midtone pink/plum neutral”-OCC
This color is a really nice wearable coral color in real life.

Trollop described as a "pinked coral"-OCC I would say this color is Memento's brighter and bolder twin.

Trollop
described as a “pinked coral”-OCC
I would say this color is Memento’s brighter and bolder twin.

Clockwork described as a "burnished orange creme"-OCC Of all my Lip Tars, I find this one to be my least favorite. Its a nice color, but Its just a tad to orange on me...and not in a flattering way.

Clockwork
described as a “burnished orange creme”-OCC
Of all my Lip Tars, I find this one to be my least favorite. Its a nice color, but Its just a tad to orange on me…and not in a flattering way.

Nylon described as "classic bubblegum pink with neon twist"-Sephora (Sephora Exclusive) This color was another one that was tricky to photograph. In the tube it looks like a neon pink, but on my lips in this picture its more blue toned. It is much brighter and more pink in real life.

Nylon
described as “classic bubblegum pink with neon twist”-Sephora (not on OCC website)
This color was another one that was tricky to photograph. In the tube it looks like a neon pink, but on my lips in this picture its more blue toned. It is much brighter and more pink in real life.

Strumpet described as a "seedless grape red"-OCC I would say its more purple than red, but still a lovely color.

Strumpet
described as a “seedless grape red”-OCC
I would say its more purple than red, but still a lovely color. I like to think of it as Black Dahlia’s less scary cousin.

Harlot described as a "neon popsicle red"-OCC Honestly, this is my go to red. Love this color.

Harlot
described as a “neon popsicle red”-OCC
Honestly, this is my go to red. Love this color.

Super NSFW described as a "gold laced red"-OCC This color is the metallic version of NSFW (true balanced red). The gold flecks are much more noticeable in direct sunlight.

Super NSFW
described as a “gold laced red”-OCC
This color is the metallic version of NSFW (true balanced red). The gold flecks are much more noticeable in direct sunlight.

Black Metal Dahlia described as a "blackened burgundy with red pearl"-OCC Because of the metallic sheen this color is much 'lighter' than Black Dahlia. Again the iridescence is much more noticeable in direct sunlight.

Black Metal Dahlia
described as a “blackened burgundy with red pearl”-OCC
Because of the metallic sheen this color is much ‘lighter’ than Black Dahlia. Again the iridescence is much more noticeable in direct sunlight.

Black Dahlia described as the "blackest blackened red"-OCC  This stuff is no joke.

Black Dahlia
described as the “blackest blackened red”-OCC
This stuff is no joke.

My Favorites…and the not so much:

Best texture (not too viscous)-

  • Black Metal Dahlia
  • Strumpet
  • Trollop

Worst texture-

  • Super NSFW (seperates really quickly and needs to be shaken well before application)
  • Clockwork (again a problem with seperation)
  • Black Dahlia (seems to be more viscous than the others)

Best color payoff (good even coverage)-

  • Black Metal Dahlia
  • Harlot
  • Trollop

Worst color payoff-

  • Black Dahlia (since its more viscous its harder to get even coverage)
  • Nylon (seems to wear off more quickly than others)
  • Digitalis (seems to highlight and fall into the lines of your lips more than others)

 

Final Thoughts:

I don’t know how many times I have said it, but I love these little things.  These babies are super opaque and long lasting. Since they are so opaque and in liquid form they go on smoothly and a little goes a very long way. I would suggest using no more than the tiniest bit. Literally the worst thing is you using too much (pea sized) and it getting EVERYWHERE!

If you have no experience with Lip Tars you need to know that its a liquid lipstick so you  must be careful and precise while applying it. Luckily when you purchase one, OCC includes a mini version of their precision lip brush (a god send).

Also like I said, Lip Tars really take a toll on your lips. One of the biggest complaints is that they make your lips feel like the Sahara Desert. This is for a few reasons. One is that the product is made using Peppermint Oil which naturally drys your lips. Second is because you’re wearing a lipstick, you don’t necessarily lick your lips when you wear lipstick. To prevent over dryness, I have found that exfoliating your lips every night as well as using a primer (especially OCC’s Clear Primer) truly helps a lot. With this regimen I still experience dryness on my lips but it isn’t unbearable or noticeable.

For flawless application, I would recommend that you conceal around your lips and wear it with a lip liner (Urban Decay Ozone FTW) to prevent feathering and add to its longevity.  I can normally get a full days wear out of the lighter colors without any noticeable wear. For the more vivid colors, maybe 4-5 hours before you would need to touch up.

Pros:

  • Opacity
  • Dries matte
  • Wide range of colors which can be easily mixed to make your own colors
  • Longevity
  • A little goes a long way
  • Packaging
  • Vegan
  • Cruelty Free

Cons:

  • Dryness
  • Workability
  • Difficulty to apply

The Math:

An individual OCC Lip Tar retails for $18 from Sephora and from the OCC website. Each tube holds .33oz of product which calculates to approximately $54USD per ounce. For comparison purposes, the typical MAC lipstick retails for $15USD and holds .01oz of product calculating to $150USD per ounce. Since you really only need the smallest amount of Lip Tar to acheive desired results, it seems as if it could pretty much last you a lifetime.

 

Let me know what you think!!

XO- Jen

6 thoughts on “Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Collection: Swatches and Review

  1. Jen! These are beautiful. I have been considering purchasing an OCC Lip Tar for so long but I was hesitant about how drying they are. Have you tried them layered with a lip gloss over the top? Would that make them feel less “sahara desert”? I’m so impressed that you can get an entire day’s wear out of the nuder colors. I wanted a bright color before but now you’ve convinced me otherwise. Excellent post, Thorough review. I look forward to more posts! xo

    • Wow thank you so much! Im not going to lie, cause they are drying. The thing that helps the most is to just really take care of your lips in general. Im talking exfoliation and a balm. I use Bliss Fabulips Exfoliator every night followed by eos chapstick. Before applying the lip tar i swipe on a good layer of chapstick and let that settle before applying the product. I have tried layering the primer over the lip tar and it works, but i feel like the lip tars never really dry too matte, they always have a bit of a sheen to them.

Leave a Reply

