Inspiration du Semaine; Vol. 1 – My First Liebster Award!

Hello Readers!

My goal for Inspiration du Semaine is to bring to light some of my favorite fellow beauty bloggers, and coincidentally I woke up this morning to a lovely surprise to do just that!  I am so happy to announce that I was nominated for my first Liebster Award by the lovely Ashley of Ocean Expressway!

liebster1

For those of you wondering what the Liebster Award is, its essentially an award given within our network of blogs in recognition of new and rising bloggers. The Liebster Award (‘Liebster’ meaning friend in German) also acts as a great way to improve networking and to make some friends within the beauty blogging community. In order to accept and carry on the award you must:

1. You must link back to the person who nominated you.
2. You must answer the 11 questions given by the person who nominated you.
3. You pick 11 nominees with under 200 followers (approximately) to answer your questions.
4. You cannot nominate the person who nominated you.
5. You must tell the nominees that they have been nominated by you.
 
 
So here are the questions Ocean Expressway is having me answer!
 
 
1) What made you decide to start your blog?
Well my first step was subscribing to /r/makeupaddiction I became inspired by these very beautiful and talented women. As the months went on, I found myself enamored with researching new releases, different products, and posting various fotd selfies to my Instagram. I had a feeling that some of my Instagram followers (mainly my guy friends) were getting irritated by my posts having to do with makeup, hauls, ect, so I think that was the first moment when I had planted the idea of hosting a blog in the back of my mind.  It was a few weeks ago when I decided to make the full commitment to starting a blog. I believe my primary reason to begin was because thought it would be a healthy way to document my addiction and expand my networking. Before I even created it, I spent a good amount of time researching which host I should use, what my name should be, what kind of topics I would be covering, aesthetics, and other bits like that. My blog was what I would call under construction for about a week before I
wrote my intro post.
 
 
2)What do you want to improve on your blog? 
Being an artist and a bit of a perfectionist, I’m currently obsessing over the aesthetics and UI of my blog. I would like to change the main image on my title page as it is an older piece I did and really has nothing to do with my blog. I’m in the process of making a new artwork to feature that has a little more to do with makeup, ect.
Other than that, I’m still not sure yet? I have really only been going strong for 2 weeks now so I’m still working out the kinks on what to post and when. If you have any suggestions, let me know in the comments or Contact Me!
 
3)Who or what is your biggest inspiration? 
After 4 years of taking art theory and studio courses, I am very inspired by art. I really look up to expressionist and romantic artist. I think there are certain artists whose lives outshine or add value to their works which I think is very noteworthy. A few of my favorite artists would be Van Gogh and Edgar Degas.
Thinking about it now, I really think my makeup application really mirrors that of the way I approach and produce my own artwork. I like to work with ink and watercolor, as I love the contrast between a dark clean line with the vibrancy and unpredictable aspect of working with a liquid. When I do my makeup, I like to have a very clean, clear, and flawless base, simple eye, and a bright lip or blush to add an aspect of capriciousness.
4)What are you loving about your life right now?
I would say the idea that I will be graduating college soon is pretty up there. I’m very proud of myself for having completed dual bachelors degrees in the time it takes most people to complete one.  Now that I’m so close to graduating, I feel like I have more time to myself and I can focus on the things that I am interested in and better myself for things yet to come.
 
5)Who is your favorite YouTuber?
Well, I don’t actually watch too much YouTube. I’m not subscribed to any makeup vlogs or anything like that, which I should probably change. I guess so I don’t leave this question empty though, I would like to list my favorite instagrammer/blogger @ssssamanthaa. She is always posting the most gorgeous looks, I’m so jealous of her face haha.
 
6)Do you prefer handwritten letters, or typed letters?
Being a romantic, I definitely prefer handwritten. It shows that the person really took the time out of their day to sit down and think of you for a few minutes.
 
7)What is your favorite memory?
 Ugh I have so many! I guess the memory which brings me the most happiness was all the days spent with my Nanna while I was growing up. She would take us to the park to feed the ducks, pick us up from school every Monday, make us french toast for breakfast, and put in so much effort into making my brother and I happy. My memories with her are some of my favorites.
 
8)Tell us about your favorite time of year.
Well living in Southern California, we don’t really have any seasons so every time of year is pretty much the same with the exclusion of some rainy cold days. I would say my favorite time of the year is during the fall and leading up to the holidays. Its a little cooler so I’m not sweating bullets all day like in the summer.  Fall is when school is just beginning so I’m all fresh and ready to go after taking a 10 week summer break. Fall is also a perfect excuse for me to wear my dark lipsticks and not get crap for it.
 
9)Who are you when you look in the mirror?
I’m just Jen. I don’t think I am special in any sort of way. I’m a daughter, a sister, a girlfriend, a friend, a student, and a hard worker. I look at myself and see the potential to be everything I aspire to be and earn in my life. I think it will be a while before I can look in the mirror and truly be satisfied with who is looking back at me.
 
10)What are your top 3 things to do before you die?
     a. Definitely want to travel to every part of the world. I want to set foot in a place no one has ever stood before; whether its trekking through Antarctica, climbing some god forsaken mountain in China, or walking across the plains of Africa. First on my list of places to go would be Cambodia/Vietnam, Greenland, and the Galapagos.
     b. I want to open my own business. I have aspirations to open my own art gallery.
     c. I want to learn how to cook. Like legitimately cook all chef status.
 
11)What makes you happy?
I like to give and I am happy when others are happy. I like knowing that I did the right thing and when people are appreciative. I like being told that I am loved and reassured that I am important to them.
 
Okay! So now that is over with, I hope you all have a better understanding of who I am and that I’m a real person.
 
My Nominees for the Liebster Award: 
1) Saskia of Pretty Trivialties
2) Rebecca with Rebecca Shores MUA
3) Jamie of After the 9 to 5
4) Rain with Makeup Not War but I think she can better be followed via instagram @shesahunter
5) Jayne of Cat Lady Cosmetics
6) Cherise of VXN Beauty, she can also be followed at @vxnbeauty
7) Allison of Bisous Darling
8) Mollie at Glamorcast
9) Brandi of That Saucey Mama
10) Cat with Neko to no Tanoshii
11) Ellen of Bellelita Makeup
 
My Questions for the Nominees!!!
1) When did you first start wearing makeup?
2) How did you choose your blog name?
3) Any pets?
4) What is your favorite product?
5) What is your skincare routine?
6) What would you buy with $500 just for makeup?
7) What are your other hobbies aside from makeup?
8) Favorite kind of candy?
9) What style of makeup do you feel most confident in?
10) Where is your dream honeymoon?
11) What goal would you like to have accomplished by the end of the year?
Hope you all can participate and best of luck!
XO-Jen
6 thoughts on “Inspiration du Semaine; Vol. 1 – My First Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

