Weekly Favorite; Vol. 2 – Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar in Hush

Hello Readers,

So some of you may know that I have a slight obsession (pun not intended) with Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetic’s Lip Tar. As of now, my collection spans to 12 various shades…yet I still catch myself wanting more!

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics (OCC) is a fantastic company which sports 100% Vegan cruelty free products. When the brand first started, it was used by makeup professionals only, however in more recent years, OCC has expanded various product lines to the public market. Although OCC prides itself off of bold colors, their Lip Tars are especially notorious for their opacity and longevity. Lip Tars are sold in a tube which should be squeezed onto a lip brush then applied to the lips after using a lip primer. Since Lip Tars are liquid and very opaque, a little goes a long way. When you purchase a Lip Tar individually it comes in this zip lock kind of packet and with a mini version of the OCC precision lip brush.

After hearing all the hype over the internet about Lip Tar, I decided to try it out for myself. My first OCC Lip Tar purchase was Black Dahlia and although I love it, its definitely not what I would consider to be an every day color. However since the brand is known for their bright colors, why would I waste my time and money on more natural or nude tones? Well I was wrong. Over the holidays I was gifted OCC’s Neutral Trio (available at Sephora for $39.50USD) and I fell in love. Initially I thought that the colors would be too orange on my very fair complexion, however I was pleasantly surprised that they were in reality more pink.

Before I continue, I would like to make a note that many people are turned off by the “neutral” colors OCC offers because they are “too bright to be nude”. However I think there should be some clarification between what is considered ‘bright’ vs. what is considered ‘opaque’. The neutral colors themselves aren’t necessarily bright, however they are very opaque, so the color you see in the tube is pretty much what you are going to get on your lips. Then before you think, “Well the color in the tube is definitely not a natural color, my lips don’t look like that”, I can tell you from experimenting with these products for some time now that:  1) We carry a high misconception on what shade our lips truly are, and 2) If you truly wanted something natural looking on your lips…why would you wear an OPAQUE lipstick! The point of a ‘nude’ lip is to not match your skin tone, but to enhance your lips natural color which I think OCC’s neutrals do a good job of. (Sorry if I’m going on a bit of a rant but it just bums me out when buyers are so quick to disregard a product when they have no prior experience with it.)

Anyway, during my morning routine once I finish my face and eye makeup, the last thing I do is choose a lip color. Some days I will go for a deep red, others a bright pink, but for the days when I’m feeling nothing in particular or not quite as daring, I feel myself gravitating to OCC Lip Tar in Hush. Its the perfect peachy-pink color to complement my skin tone.

DSC_0788

First Impressions:

Like I mentioned, just by looking at the tube I believed that this color might as well look neon orange in contrast to my skin tone. However once its applied, Hush lets just the tiniest bit of your natural lip color show through making it a nice peachy-red based nude.

DSC_0776

 

DSC_0972

 

 

Final Thoughts:

I have worn this product many times and I can say that it acts as your typical lip tar. Its a liquid lipstick so you  must be careful and precise while applying it, even for a light color like Hush. Again, just like other Lip Tars, it can be pretty dying on your lips. This is for a few reasons. One is that the product is made using Peppermint Oil which naturally drys your lips. Second is because you’re wearing a lipstick, you don’t necessarily lick your lips when you wear lipstick. To prevent over dryness, I have found that exfoliating your lips every night as well as using a primer (especially OCC’s Clear Primer) truly helps a lot. In addition, I would recommend that you conceal around your lips and wear it with a lip liner to prevent feathering and add to its longevity.  I can normally get a full days wear out Hush, approximately 8 hours including eating and drinking with minimal noticeable wear. By the time I would even consider a touch-up, I’m normally already home cooking dinner.

Pros:

  • Opacity
  • Dries matte
  • Wide range of colors which can be easily mixed to make your own colors
  • Longevity
  • A little goes a long way
  • Packaging
  • Vegan
  • Cruelty Free

Cons:

  • Dryness
  • Workability
  • Difficulty to apply

The Math:

An individual OCC Lip Tar retails for $18 from Sephora and from the OCC website. Each tube holds .33oz of product which calculates to approximately $54USD per ounce. For comparison purposes, the typical MAC lipstick retails for $15USD and holds .01oz of product calculating to $150USD per ounce. Since you really only need the smallest amount of Lip Tar to acheive desired results, it seems as if it could pretty much last you a lifetime.

For those of you interested, I will be posting a mass review of all my Lip Tars sometime throughout the week!

My next post will be on Sunday for Inspiration du Semaine.

XO- Jen

For daily updates, follow me on Instagram!

One thought on “Weekly Favorite; Vol. 2 – Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar in Hush

Leave a Reply

