Tutorial Thursday; Vol. 1 – Soft Smokey Valentine’s Day Look

Hello Readers!

So today I have prepared for you my first tutorial! For Valentine’s Day my boyfriend and
I will be going out to a nice restaurant. He doesn’t prefer heavy eye makeup or dark lips so I tried a look that would be softer and a bit more approachable than what I normally wear.  This is really exciting for me, but let me know in the comments if there is anything I can improve on regarding layout or logistics. Enjoy!

Soft Smokey Valentine’s Day Tutorial

So for this look we will be using the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. If you don't have this palette, random rose gold and pink toned neutral colors will work just as fine.

So for this look we will be using the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. If you don’t have this palette, random rose gold and pink toned neutral colors will work just as fine.

Oooo how pretty! This palette can be purchased from the Urban Decay website or from Sephora for $52USD. The palette holds 12 shadows, each containing .05oz of product coming to $86.67USD per oz of eye shadow. For comparison purposes, each Urban Decay single eye shadow retails for $18USD, holds the same amount of product (.05oz.), coming to approximately $360USD per ounce. By purchasing the Naked Palettes you are essentially getting 12 full size eye shadows for the price of 3 on their own.

Oooo how pretty! This palette can be purchased from the Urban Decay website or from Sephora for $52USD. The palette holds 12 shadows, each containing .05oz of product coming to $86.67USD per oz of eye shadow. For comparison purposes, each Urban Decay single eye shadow retails for $18USD, holds the same amount of product (.05oz.), coming to approximately $360USD per ounce. By purchasing the Naked Palettes you are essentially getting 12 full size eye shadows for the price of 3 on their own.

Lets get started!

You are going to begin with your face prepped, primed and ready to go. This includes moisturizer, foundation, concealer, and setting powder. Here I used SmashboxUrban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup in 1.0 all over my face, Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer

Step 1: You are going to begin with your face prepped, primed and ready to go. This includes moisturizer, foundation, concealer,  brows, and setting powder. Here I used Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer in Color Adjust Green on my cheeks, Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup in 1.0 all over my face, NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer under my eyes and on any redness, Too Faced Brow Envy Kit, and MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium. (So sorry for my messy wet hair D;)

Now the real fun begins…

'Limit' described as a "light dusty rose matte" - Sephora

‘Limit’ described as a “light dusty rose matte” – Sephora

asdf

Step 2: Take Limit using a flat eye shadow brush and pat it across your lid. No need to blend, we will be layering other shadows over it to build some depth; since Limit is one of the few matte shadows in Naked 3 it acts as a good base.

Next

‘Nooner’ described as a “medium pinky-brown matte” – Sephora

Step 3

 Step 3: Next, take Nooner using the same flat eye shadow brush and press it into your inner and outer crease (not across the middle). Again, dont worry about blending as we are just using it as a base.

mmm

‘Trick’ described as a ‘light metallic pinky-copper shimmer with tonal microsparkle” – Sephora

sdf

 Step 4: With a rounded crease blending brush, use Trick to blend the your inner and outer crease together.  I found this worked best using a ‘windshield’ wiper motion through your crease. Don’t blend out the edges just yet.

asd

‘Burnout’ described as a “light peachy-pink satin” – Sephora

asdf

 Step 5:   Take Burnout with a smaller flat eye shadow brush and press it onto your inner lid.

asdf

‘Buzz’ described as a “metallic rose shimmer with silver microglitter.” – Sephora

asdf

Step 6: Take Buzz with a small flat eye shadow brush and apply it to your outer lid blending up into the crease with Nooner and Limit.

asd

‘Factory’ described as a “pinkish brown satin” – Sephora

asdf

Step 7:   With a harder short eye shadow brush, press Factory into the outer-v of your eyelid and into the very corner.

Step 8:

Step 8:  Now we blend! Blend, blend, blend! Focus the blending to the outer-v of your eyelid and inner corner.

asdf

‘Blackheart’ described as a “smokey black matte with red sparkles” – Sephora

asdf

Step 9:   Take Blackheart with either a small flat eye shadow brush or a small angled brush and focus it in the outer-v of your eyelid and inner corner.  Experienced a lot of fallout with this shadow so be wary not to get it on your cheeks!

asdf

Step 10:   Now blend in Blackheart similar to how you did in Step 8.

kjgh

Step 11:     Using a small angled brush, smudge Nooner into your inner lower eyelid, and Factory into your outer lower lid.

asdf

Step 12:       Smudge Blackheart with a small angled brush into your outer lower lid and into your upper lashline.

Now for the extra bits…

asdf

Step 13: Take a black kohl liner and tightline your upper and lower lashline.  Here I am using Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Stingray. 

asdf

Step 14:  Almost done!!! Apply your favorite mascara to your upper and lower lashes! I am using Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara.

Finishing touches…

asdf

Step 15: Add your blush, contour, and highlight. I am using NARS Gaiety for blush, NYX Taupe for contour, and NARS Albatross for highlighting.

asdf

A better look at my contour. If you would like a tutorial on highlighting and contouring let me know in the comments!

asdf

Step 16: Prep and line your lips. I am using Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics  Lip Primer in Clear, and Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil in Ozone.

asdf

Step 17:  Apply a pink lipstick! I am using Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar in Memento.

And that’s it! You’re finished!

sdf

Entire face.

DSC_0914

DSC_0913

So thats it! hope you enjoyed the tutorial and try it for yourself! Let me know where I can make any improvements or give me suggestions for future tutorials down in the comments below or under the contact me tab.  Also, let me know what it is you plan on doing for Valentine’s Day

Tomorrow’s post will be this weeks favorite!

XO- Jen

8 thoughts on “Tutorial Thursday; Vol. 1 – Soft Smokey Valentine’s Day Look

  1. I want to see a picture of all your makeup, I’ve recently gotten into wearing better eye shadows (just got urban decays ammo palate, and scratch) but I need ideas for primers, lips, eye brows….
    I considered naked 3 but don’t feel I’m up to working with all the options yet ;P

    • Thats actually a really good idea. Might be able to post that Thursday after class (hopefully??). I could go on and on about what I would recommend for eyes, lips, face, ect (which is why I started a blog haha), but some things that I would really recommend, I dont actually own because they are either not in my price range, fit into my collection, or I just havent gotten around to it yet. In the meantime, I suggest that you check out http://www.reddit.com/r/MakeupAddiction/ , this community really sparked my interest in makeup and they also have HG (holy grail) product lists ranging from drugstore to high end on their blog here, http://redditmakeupaddiction.blogspot.com/.
      Right off the bat I would tell you to check out either Kat Von D or UD for foundation and primer (eyeshadow), for face primer I would recommend Smashbox since they have a range of colors (I use the green one which takes away some redness), for brows check out Anastasia Beverly Hills especially her brow wiz pencil thing, lastly for lips check out NYX (especially the matte cream lipsticks), Kat Von D/UD also have good lip products, also MAC.
      Each brand has good and bad products. If you have any questions you actually know me..so just text me, fb me, or email me at blushandfuss@gmail.com

  2. in the pictures of each step, could you do a close up, like you did at the end. It’s kind of hard to see what you did with each step from so far away, and I’m really bad with makeup and need someone to hold my hand! haha

    • Thanks for the feedback! Honestly, doing the tutorial was the hardest thing I have ever done for the blog cause it seems to take forever, so next Thursday I will try to make the pictures closer and show my brushes! Any kind of look or tutorial inparticular that you would like to see?

  3. well you did a great job! I’m most interested in learning how to stuff with my eyes. So just more posts on that! 😉 I’ve always wanted to do the smokey eyes look, so this is a great post! I’ve been wanting to get the Urban Decay Naked eyeshadow for awhile now, and seeing your posts makes me crave it more! So I might be getting that soon. Just started getting into my makeup a little more recently. You have such an extensive array of makeup, how long did it take you to create such an awesome collection?!

    • Sounds good! 🙂 If you are trying to narrow it down between the 3 Naked palettes, I would suggest you get Naked2. Naked2 is more taupe based/cooler toned than Naked and I think it would look better on your skin tone. Naked3 is like a whole new ball game though. I really wouldn’t compare it to Naked or Naked2 since all the colors are more pink based. So if thats what you’re into, definitely get it!
      I honestly, don’t think I have that much;my wishlists are way more extensive than my actual collection. I got another request to show off my entire collection so I’ll probably shoot and post that on Thursday seeing as it shouldn’t take so long. I didn’t really start getting into makeup until this summer when I got a bunch of cash for my birthday haha. That was when I made my first MAC purchases and really updated my collection.

Leave a Reply

